Independence War Museum: The building, designed by Vedat Tek (1873-1942) and completed in 1923 as the Republican People’s Headquarters, was later transformed to serve as the Assembly building. The two-story structure also has a basement level. On three sides, the centrally positioned two-story high main theatre is encircled by rooms.
The largest foyer, which runs the length of the entry facade, features two grand staircases at opposite ends and a ceiling adorned with Seljuk and Ottoman ornaments and patterns. The most auditorium is also furnished in a same style, with audience boxes grouped in parts within.
Except for the crown door and a few other objects that are later added to the hall, it has a star-patterned timber ceiling, arcs, cornices, and several parts with mosaic embellishments that reflect the architectural traits of the time.
Independence War Museum: First Room
This room served as the “Legislation Secretariat Room” during the Second Turkish Steeplechase Assembly. Today, the life and events of III. President of the Republic Mahmut Celal Bayar between 1950 and 1960 are recounted in his own words and photographs in this room. This area has a number of his personal possessions that were donated to the museum by his family.
Independence War Museum: Second Room
During the Second Turkish steeplechase Assembly, it was known as the “Board of Directors Room” or “Administrative Committee Room.” It is now used to showcase banknotes and coins, stamps, memorial coins, and medals that have been in circulation since the Republic’s inception.
Independence War Museum: Third Room
During the Second Turkish Grand National Assembly, it was used as an “Archives Room.” Today, it is becoming accustomed to showing the life and events of the Republic’s II. President, Ismet Inönü, between 1938 and 1950 in his own words and photographs. This area also includes a number of his personal possessions that were donated to the museum by his family.
Main Assembly Hall
The presidential pulpit of the Assembly is located in the middle of the hall, between the two main entrances. The Ambassadors’ lodges, as well as the Honourable Presidential lodge, are on the left side of the hall, with the audience and press boxes at the back.
Between 1924 and 1960, the number of members of parliament in this chamber reached as high as 610. After being passed to the Ministry of Culture, this structure was converted to a museum after serving as the Turkish Grand National Assembly until 1960.